Monday, January 28, 2008

Oscar Countdown: No Country Wins DGA Award

It has only happened 3 times since 1996 that the DGA Award has gone to a director that didn't go on to win the Best Directing Oscar for that year. Ron Howard (Apollo 13), Ang Lee ( Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon) and Rob Marshall (Chicago) won the DGA in 1996, 2001 and 2003, only to lose to Mel Gibson (Braveheart), Steven Soderbergh (Traffic) and Roman Polanski (The Pianist).

This year, the DGA Award went to the Cohen Brothers for No Country For Old Men which now makes them almost certain of Oscar glory.

No comments: